Airtel Masaza Cup 2017: Eight epic matches return over the weekend

Kabaka Mutebi II greets Mawogola players ahead of kick off prior to the official opening match

2017 Airtel Masaza tourney:

Saturday, 24th June:

Group B:

  • Ssese Vs Mawogola – Lutoboka, Ssese Island

Sunday, 25th June:

Group A:

  • Kyadondo Vs Butambala – Gayaza playground
  • Mawokota Vs Buvuma – Buwama playground, Masaka road

Group B:

  • Buddu Vs Kabula – Masaka recreation stadium, Masaka

Group C:

  • Singo Vs Busujju – Mityana Ssaza ground
  • Gomba Vs Buwekula – Kabulasoke PTC playground, Gomba

Group D:

  • Bulemeezi Vs Buluuli – Kasana playground, Luweero
  • Kyaggwe Vs Bugerere – Bishop S.S playground, Mukono

The ever interesting Airtel Buganda Masaza football tournament nears the climax of the group stages this weekend with eight games lined up.

Only one match (between Ssese and Mawogola) will be held on Saturday at the home of Ssese in Lutoboka, Lake Victoria islands.

The other seven shall be played on Sunday, 4th June 2017 at the different playing venues.

Ssese, after suffering back to back losses to Kabula and Buddu, will strieve to save face when they host Mawogola at the Lutoboka playground.

On Sunday, group A leaders Kyadondo (11 points) needs a draw when Butambala visits Gayaza in order to qualify for the quarter finals.

Mawokota will take on Buvuma at Buwama in the other group A match

In group B, the reigning champions Buddu requires a point off visiting Kabula to ensure a slot to the knock out stage.

Kabula, currently on 6 points visit the intimidating Masaka Recreational stadium with hopes of playing catch up to the run away teams – Buddu and Kooki who have 11 and 9 points respectively.

Meanwhile, Singo hosts Busujju in Mityana and Gomba takes on Buweekula at Kabulasooke PTC ground in group C encounters.

It is still a tag of war for the top three sides with Gomba leading the group on 8 points.

Singo and Buweekula have accumulated 7 and 5 points respectively.

Busujju, losing semifinalists to Gomba last year have just two points in the coffers.

Group D leaders Bugerere (with 7 points and a superior goal difference ahead of Bulemeezi) make a short trip to third placed Kyaggwe (6) at the Mukono Bishop S.S play ground.

At Kasana playground in Luweero, home side Bulemeezi will lock horns with Buluuri, who have just managed 2 points this term.

Two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the quarter finals that are played on a home and away basis.

The tournament that has been played for now 13 years has graduated through different technicalities and sponsorship alike. Telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited bankroll the tournament as the main sponsors.

Buddu are the defending champions.

Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup All Winners:

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012– Bulemeezi

2011– Buluri

2010– Not Held

2009– Gomba

2008– Kyadondo

2007– Mawokota

2006– Kooki

2005- Mawokota

2004- Gomba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *