Gomba edge Ssingo to win 2017 Airtel Masaza Cup

2017 Airtel Masaza Cup

  • Final: Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
  • 3rd place playoff: Buddu 4-2 Busiro

Individual Awards

  • MVP: Frank Ssemakula (Busiro)
  • Best Goalkeeper: Juma Kirabira (Gomba)
  • Top Scorers: Joseph Janjali (Gomba) and Steven Mukwala (Ssingo) –  8 goals each

Gomba players greet the Kabaka prior kick-off

Gomba Lions edged Ssingo 1-0 to claim their fourth Airtel Masaza Cup at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole on Saturday.

Nicholas Kabonge scored the all important goal in the 68th minute of a well contested final watched by the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II.

Simon Ddungu coached side is now the record holders of the tourney, following victories in 2004, 2009 and 2014.

In the third place playoff match, Buddu came back from two goals down to beat Busiro 4-2.

Richard Kalule scored in the 6th and 35th minutes as Busiro took a two goal cushion heading to the half time break.

Micdad Ssenyonga, Frank Ssebuufu, Ivan Sserubiri’s penalty and Ivan Kato sealed the victory for Buddu in a remarkable come back to claim third place that came along with a cash prize of Shs5M. Busiro pocketed Shs3M for the 4th place finish.

The champions were rewarded Shs10M, a trophy and gold medals. Ssingo took home silver medals and Shs7M.

Joint tournament top scorer, Joseph Jjanjali of Gomba (with 8 goals as Ssingo’s Steven Mukwala) returned to the winning podium just like last year as he did with Buddu.

All Airtel Masaza Cup  winners

  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005- Mawokota
  • 2004- Gomba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *