Frank ‘Zagga’ Tumwesigye ready to prove himself

COSAFA U-20 Tournament (Opening Fixtures) – Wednesday, 6th December 2017

  • 11h 30: Swaziland Vs Malawi   –    Arthur Davies Stadium (Group A)
  • 14h 30: Angola Vs Namibia      –     Arthur Davies Stadium (Group C)
  • 17h 30: Zambia Vs Uganda      –      Arthur Davies Stadium (Group A)

Vipers Sports Club and Uganda U-20 midfielder Frank ‘Zagga’ Tumwesigye feels he is ready to prove himself.

The 18 year old Senior four vacist at St Mary’s Boarding Secondary School, Kitende is part of the 20 man Uganda team for the COSAFA U-20 championship in Zambia.

“I am ready to play well together with my other teammates because I have grown in confidence and no longer fear any one personally,” he told Airtel Football.

“Also, this is the time to prove that we can also play at the international level.”

Baptized Zagga, Tumwesigye ranks among the best passers and dribblers of the ball in the Uganda Premier League.

Zagga is graduate of the U-17 team that played during 2015 CAF U-17 qualifiers.

He is proud of the coaches who have handled him since childhood at Kakungulu Memorial and St Mary’s Kitende, at Vipers and during the different Under age teams he has played for.

I want to take this opportunity to thank the coaches who have shaped me and made me a better player that I am today.

I also wish to thank the head teachers at the schools where I have passed through for the knowledge (through school bursaries).

Uganda’s team is coached by CAF ‘A’ licensed coach Mathias Lule. He is assisted by James Odoch and Samuel Kawalya (in charge of the goalkeeping department).

Uganda U-20 Players in Zambia:

  • Goalkeepers: Eric Kibowa (Vipers/ St Marys Kitende), Keni Saidi (Proline), Ali Mwerusi (St Marys’ Kitende)
  • Right Backs: Fred Okot (URA), Andrew Okiringi (USA)
  • Left Backs: Mustapha Kizza (KCCA), Victor Matovu (Aspire Academy, Qatar)
  • Central Defenders: Mustapha Mujjuzi (Proline), Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers)
  • Holding Midfielders: Abubaker Muhammed Kasule (Express), Julius Poloto (KCCA)
  • Wingers: David Owori (Proline) Pius Obuya (Maroons)
  • Offensive midfielders: Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers), Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Allan Okello (KCCA)
  • Forwards: Muhammad Shaban (KCCA), Mujahid Baden (Vipers), Steven Mukwala (Vipers), Hamis Tibita (BUL)

Group Stage fixtures:

  • 06th December 11h30     A         Swaziland Vs Malawi   –     Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 06th December 14h30 C         Angola Vs Namibia      –        Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 06th December 17h30     A         Zambia Vs Uganda      –      Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 07th December 12h00     B         South Africa Vs Mozambique –     Nkana Stadium
  • 07th December 15h00     C         Lesotho Vs Zimbabwe     –              Nkana Stadium
  • 08th December 11h30     B         Egypt Vs Mauritius              –        Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 08th December 14h30     A         Malawi Vs Zambia            –           Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 08th December 17h30     C         Namibia Vs Lesotho          –           Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 09th December  12h00     B         Mozambique vs Egypt            –     Nkana Stadium
  • 09th December  15h00     C         Angola vs Zimbabwe               –    Nkana Stadium
  • 10th December 12h00     B         Mauritius vs South Africa     –       Nkana Stadium
  • 10th December 15h00     A         Uganda vs Swaziland              –     Nkana Stadium
  • 11th December 12h00 C         Angola vs Lesotho                –          Nkana Stadium
  • 11th December 12h00 C         Namibia vs Zimbabwe           –        Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 11th December  15h00     A         Zambia vs Swaziland              –      Nkana Stadium
  • 11th December 15h00     A         Uganda vs Malawi                  –      Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 12th December 15h00     B         South Africa vs Egypt          –          Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 12th December 15h00     B         Mozambique vs Mauritius      –      Nkana Stadium


  • 14th December 14h30    Winner Group B vs Best Runner-up         –    Arthur Davies Stadium
  • 14th December 17h30     Winner Group A vs Winner Group C    –        Arthur Davies Stadium


  • 16th December 10h30     Loser Semi-final 1 vs Loser Semi-final 2           –    Levy Mwanawasa Stadium


  • 16th December 14h00           Winner Semi –final 1 vs Winner Semi-final  2   –  Levy Mwanawasa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *