CHAN 2016: Group D

Tuesday, 19th January 2016

Mali vs. Uganda – Umuganda Stadium, Rubavu – 7:00 p.m (Uganda)

Follow Live updates on Airtel Uganda Football (Facebook & Twitter)

Uganda Cranes kick start their campaign at the 4th Edition of African Nations Championship (CHAN) with a date against West African opposition, Mali on Tuesday evening at the newly refurbished Umuganda stadium in the Rubavu lake side town.

Head coach, Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has released the starting line-up for the much needed positive result in the opening game.

A large number of players who played in the team’s two build up games against Gabon and Cameroon make the starting line up.

Towering goalie, Ismail Watenga is maintained in the goal posts with the two KCCA F.C full backs starting the game. Robust Denis Okot Oola starts in the right back role as Joseph Ochaya will orchestrate the left.

URA F.C’s Richard Kasagga Jjuuko and Bright Stars F.C skipper, Bernard Muwanga will play the central defensive roles as Timothy Denis Awany, usually played as a center half at his local club, KCCA F.C will play the anchorman’s role in the absence of the seasoned Ivan Ntege (suspended for the game).

Inspirational midfielder, Farouk Miya will once again be tasked to skipper the side as provide the much needed leadership on the field of play.

The midfield duo of Ivan Ntege and Hassan Wasswa Dazzo are both ruled out of this tie because of suspensions.

Ntege, one of the three survivors from the 2014 CHAN team in the 3rd edition which was hosted in South Africa accumulated two bookings in the qualifiers whilst Wasswa was sent off at Nakivubo stadium during the game against Sudan at the last hurdle of the qualifiers.

Uganda is housed in group D alongside Mali, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Uganda XI: Ismail Watenga (G.K), Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya, Bernard Muwanga, Richard Kasagga Jjuuko, Timothy Dennis Awany, Erisa Ssekisambu, Kezironi Kizito, Faruku Miya (C), Samson Ceasar Okhuti, Robert Sentongo

Subs: James Alitho (G.K), Mathias Kigonya (G.K), Joseph Nsubuga, Isaac Muleme, Ambrose Kirya, Martin Kiiza, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Frank Kalanda, Edirisa Lubega, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Hassan Wasswa Dazzo Suspended: Ivan Ntege