Uganda Cranes upcoming matches:

  • International Build up: Uganda Vs Kenya – Tues, 30th August 2016 (5 p.m)
  • AFCON 2017 Qualifier: Uganda Vs Comoros – Sun, 4th September 2016 (5 p.m)

*Both Matches at Nelson Mandela National Stadium, Namboole

Uganda Cranes head coach, Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic has named a strong team of 32 players ahead of Kenya and Comoros games.

Among the players summoned is a United Kingdom based player, Bevis Mugabi, who plays at right back.

Micho named the team on Wednesday during the weekly press conference at Mengo in Kampala.

The team has 16 players who play out of the country and 16 domestic players.

Tonny Mawejje who turns out for Icelandic club, Knattspyrnufélagið Þróttur makes the strong midfield that also has Standard Liege’s Farouk Miya, Portuguese based William Luwagga Kizito, Baroka bound Aucho Khalid, Russian based Moses Oloya with domestic players – Ivan Ntege and Kezironi Kizito.

Yeovil Town right back Bevis Mugabi earns his debut summon for the national team.

According to Micho, the match next Tuesday against Kenya will be used as spring board to assess the fitness levels, players’ technical readiness for the Comoros game;

The Kenya friendly is a bridge to the most important match against Comoros. Players who impress and prove that they are worth to

The team starts non-residential drills on Thursday with gymnasium sessions at Accacia Fitness Gym.

There are 4 goalkeepers (two professionals and two domestic goalies), 10 defenders and midfielders alike as well as 8 strikers.

Onduparaka’s Muhammed Shaban and the lanky Rashid Toha make the team.

Match day tickets for Kenya and Comoros games go officially on sale on Wednesday, 24th August 2016.

Full Uganda Cranes Team:

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magoola (El Merriekh, Sudan), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA, Uganda), Ismail Watenga (Vipers, Uganda)

Defenders: Nicholas Wadada (Vipers, Uganda), Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa, Uganda), Bevis Mugabi (Yoevil Town, UK), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda , Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Isaac Isinde (St George, Ethiopia), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA, Uganda), Rashid ‘Mertasacker’ Toha (Onduparaka, Uganda), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers, Uganda), Joseph Benson Ochaya (KCCA, Uganda), Godfrey ‘Jajja Walu’ Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Baroka, South Africa), Tonny Mawejje (Knattspyrnufélagið Þróttur, Iceland), Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito (Than Quảng Ninh, Vietnam), Moses Oloya (Kuban Kransndor, Russia), Kezironi Kizito (Vipers, Uganda), Ivan Ntege (KCCA, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (Feirense, Portgual), Vincent Kayizzi Walugembe (KCCA, Uganda), Abdulmalick Vitalis Tabu (Sports Club Villa Jogoo, Uganda)

Strikers: Geofrey Massa (Baroka, South Africa), Farouk Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium), Yunus Sentamu (F.C Ilves, Finnland), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA, Uganda), Edrisa Lubega (Proline, Uganda), Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka, Uganda), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers, Uganda)