AFCON 2017 Qualifiers: Cape Verde names provisional squad to face Uganda Cranes

Cape Verde XI
Cape Verde team

AFCON 2019 Qualifiers (Group L): Cape Verde Vs Uganda

Saturday, 10th June 2017

Estádio da Várzea, Praia City

Cape Verde team

Cape Verde head coach Lúcio Antunes has released a 25 man provisional squad of players set to face Uganda Cranes in the opening group L AFCON 2019 qualifier in Praia City.

The team has 24 players plying their trade in Europe and only one player in Africa, defender Valdevindes Monteiro Vally  who features for Progresso L. Sul in Angola.

Galatasaray S.K forward Garry Mendes Rodrigues, born in the Netherlands but nationalized to play for Cape Verde is among the foreign legion of players.

Others are Ryan Mendes, another Turkish based player who turns out for Kayserispor Football Club, Carols Rodrigues of Chaves in Portgual, Kevin Oliveira of Swope Park Rangers in USA and Ramos Heldon who plays with William Luwagga Kizito in Rio Ave in Portugal, among others.

Team’s training programme:

The players summoned will assemble in Portugal from Monday 29th May 2017 for a six day training camp before flying to Cape Verde.

The match will take place on Saturday 10th June at the Cape Verde national stadium in Praia.

Meanwhile, the foreign based players for Uganda Cranes are expected in the country on Monday.

They will be joined by the picked cream from those who traveled for the regional tour of Kitara as the sessions shall officially kick off on Tuesday.

Ethiopia and Senegal training camps:

The players’ departure is on Thursday for an Addis Ababa training camp that will culminate into an international friendly match on Saturday, June 3rd 2017.

Uganda will then play a second international friendly match against Senegal in Dakar three days later.

The two important build up matches are meant to prepare the Cranes against Cape Verde for the match slated on 10th June 2017 at the Estádio da Várzea Arena in Praia City.

Cape Verde Summoned team:
Goalkeepers – Vozinha (Gil Vicente, Portugal), Thierry Graça (Estoril, Portugal), Ivan Cruz Somada (Gil Vicente, Portugal)

Defenders – Valdevindes Monteiro Vally (Progresso L. Sul – Angola), Ianique Tavares Stopira (Videoton, Hungria), Tiago Almeida (Moreirense, Portugal), Steven Pereira (MVV Maastricht, Holand), Jeffrey Fortes (Excelsior, Holand), Gégé (Paços Ferreira, Portugal), Babanco (Feirense, Portugal), Jozimar Lima (FC Emmen, Holland), Carlos Tavares ‘Carlitos’ (Omonia, Cyprus), Kevin Oliveira (Swope Park Rangers, USA)

Midfielders – Sérgio Semedo (Apollon Limassol – Cyprus), Carlos Rodrigues (Ponk) (Chaves – Portugal), Hélder Tavares (Tondela – Portugal), Jamiro Monteiro (Sc Cambuur – Netherlands), Wuilito Fernandes (Orange County SC – USA), Jimmy Inês (Académica – Portugal), Jovane Cabral (Sporting B – Portugal), Marco Soares (AEL Limassol, Cyprus)

Forwards: José Luis Andrade (Spartak Moscow – Russia), Heldon Ramos (Rio Ave – Portugal), Julio Tavares (Dijon – France), Garry Rodrigues (Galatasaray – Turkey), Ryan Mendes (Kayserispor – Turkey)

Leave a Reply