Rivals Gomba, Ssingo to face off in epic Airtel Masaza Cup final

2017 Airtel Masaza Cup Final

Saturday, 26th August | Mandela National Stadium, Namboole

  • Gomba Vs Singo, 3:30 p.m

3rd Place play-off:

  • Buddu Vs Busiro, 12:00 p.m

Ssingo Ssaza team players being inspected by the Buganda Kingdom sports minister, Owek. Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu

Arch rivals Singo and Gomba will lock horns in this year’s Airtel Masaza Cup final on Saturday August 26 at the Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

This will be the repeat of the 2014 final that was played at Mutesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku and Gomba Lions won on penalties.

After the return legs of the semi finals played on Sunday, Gomba rallied from a goal down suffered in the first leg to equalize 1-1 on aggregate and force the match into penalties.

Allan Sserunga scored for Gomba at the Masaka Recreational stadium before the visitors won the tense shoot out 4-3.

At the Mityana Ssaza ground, home team Ssingo overcame visiting Busiro 2-1 on the day to qualify 3-1 on aggregate.

Captain Dube Ssebuwufu and Jude Ssemugabi scored for the team coached by Shafiq Bisaso and Felix Kawooya.

Ssingo had also triumphed in the first leg away 1-0 at the Ssentema play ground.

On 26th August 2017, losing semi-finalists Buddu will lock horns with Busiro in the third place playoff which will be an early kick off before the final where the Kabake Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will be chief guest.

Telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited are the main sponsors of the tournament.

Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup All Winners

  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005- Mawokota
  • 2004- Gomba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *