Uganda National Beach Soccer League returns this weekend

2017-18 National Beach Soccer League

  •  Sunday, 17th Sept 2017
  • At Lido Beach Resort Entebbe (10 a.m – 6 p.m)

While a major sponsor is yet to be secured, the National Beach Soccer League will kick off this Sunday at Lido Beach on Entebbe.

The kick-off date was confirmed by the Uganda Beach Soccer Competitions Committee and the secretariat.

Sarah Birungi, the secretary competition reveals that 16 clubs registered for the 2017-18 league, divided into 2 groups of 8 clubs.

Yes. The league kick off will be this Sunday, 17th September 2017 at Lido Beach.

All the clubs are aware and have been notified well in time with the groups – Monsoon and Hurriken confirmed.

The fixtures will soon be dispatched to the general public in the shortest time possible.

With the league kick off date confirmed, there still looms uncertainty on the main sponsors of the league after Crown Beverages pulled out mid last season.

However, individual clubs have been fighting tooth and nail to push on for an extra mile.

A number of institutional clubs as Makerere University Business School (MUBS), Buganda Royal Institute, Nkumba University, Mutesa I Royal University, Mengo Hospital, Starford University, Kampala International University (KIU), Y.M.C.A Comprehensive and St. Lawrence University (SLAU) are somehow assured of financial assistance from their respective institutions.

However, Mukiibi Ssemwogerere, the Head of Marketing and Sponsorship at the Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA) calls for calm ahead of the league kick-off;

There is something in the pipeline coming up as regards sponsorship. We urge the clubs to remain calm and they also seek for individual sponsors

There are four new clubs in the leage which are Mutoola Beach, Starford University, Nkumba University and Buganda Royal Institute.

Two clubs officially requested for change of identity. Former winners Nkumba Select have changed their name tag to Isabeti.

Real Galaticals have since changed their name to Kyadondo – Galaticals.

MUBS are the Beach Soccer League reigning champions.

Team Groups

Monsoon Group

  • Makerere University Business School (MUBS)
  • Isabeti
  • Kabalagala Rangers
  • Mutoola Beach
  • Makindye Ssabagabo (MS) Sand Lions
  • Stormers
  • Buganda Royal Institute
  • Nkumba University

Hurriken Group

  • Mutesa 1 Royal University
  • Mengo Hospital
  • Starford University
  • Kampala International University (KIU)
  • Kyadondo-Galacticals
  • Y.M.C.A Comprehensive
  •  St. Lawrence University (SLAU)
  • Talented

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *