Uganda Cranes Onyango shortlisted for CAF Awards

Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Denis Onyango has been shortlisted for the CAF Awards of African Player of the Year and Player of the Year (Based in Africa).

Eleven (11) players made the cut for the Player of the Year and Ten (10) for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) after votes from members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants, from the initial 30-man list.

On both lists Onyango is part and in line to make the final for the colorful night.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4th January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

African Player of the Year

  1. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)
  2. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  3. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)
  4. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)
  5. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  6. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)
  8. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  9. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
  10. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)
  11. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

  1. Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  2. Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  3. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
  4. Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)
  5. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  7. Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)
  8. Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)
  9. Mohamed Ounnajem (Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  10. Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *