CHAN 2018: Nigeria name provisional squad for Morocco showpiece

CHAN 2018 Tournament:

  • 12th January – 4 February 2018
  • In Morocco

Nigeria Super Eagles head coach Salisu Yusuf has named a 30 man provisional squad in preparation for the 5th African Nations Championship (CHAN).

The final tournament will be held in Morocco, kicking off on January 13 to February 4, 2018.

Experienced goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa will battle with  Dele Ajiboye and Theophilus Afelokhai.

Defenders Stephen Eze, Osas Okoro and Adeleye Olamilekan, midfielders Afeez Aremu, Rabiu Ali and Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, as well as forwards Kingsley Eduwo, Sikiru Olatubosun and Anthony Okpotu have also been included.

Nigeria is group C which will be based in Tangier with 2014 championsLibya, Rwanda and Equatorial Guinea

Uganda Cranes will start the tournament against Zambia in Marrakech on 14th January 2018.

Four days later, the CECAFA giants will return to action against Namibia and wind up the group stage matches on 22nd January 2018 against West Africans, Ivory Coast.

All Uganda’s matches will be staged in Marrakech. Only Namibia versus Zambia tie will be played in Casablanca on the final day of group fixtures.

The quarter finals will be played on the 27th and 28th January 2018 in all the cities.

Nigeria Provisional Squad:

 Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Ajiboye, Theophilus Afelokhai

Defenders: Stephen Eze, Osas Okoro, Daniel Itodo, Adeleye Olamilekan, Kalu Orji Okogbue, Ifeanyi Nweke, Nasiru Sani, Timothy Danladi

Midfielders: Afeez Aremu, Raphael Ayagwa Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Rabiu Ali, Destiny Ashadi, Dayo Ojo, Emeka Atuloma, Douglas Achiv, Austine Oladapo, Abdulkadir Zango

Forwards: Sikiru Olatubosun, Kingsley Eduwo, Peter Eneji; Anthony Okpotu, Joseph Osadiaye, Sunday Faleye, Victor Mbaoma, Mustapha Ibrahim, Gabriel Okechukwu

Group A (Casablanca)

  • Morocco (Hosts)
  • Guinea
  • Sudan
  • Mauritania

Group B (Marrakech)

  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Zambia
  • Uganda
  • Namibia

Group C (Tangier)

  • Libya
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Equatorial Guinea

Group D (Agadir)

  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Congo
  • Burkina Faso

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *