Two Video Assistant Referees to be used at CHAN 2018

CHAN 2018 Tournament

  • 12th January – 4 February 2018
  • In Morocco

Uganda Cranes Fixtures (Group B)

  • Uganda Vs Zambia – 14th January 2018 (Marrakech)
  • Uganda Vs Namibia – 18th January 2018 (Marrakech)
  • Uganda Vs Ivory Coast – 22nd January 2018 (Marrakech)

Two Video Assistant Referees will be used at the 2018 Championship of African Nations (CHAN).

Angola’s Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos and Kenya’s Range Aden Marwa will be the two officials who will decide on proceedings in the backroom.

This will be the first time video assistant refereeing shall be used at this championship that was started by CAF in 2009.

There are 21 referees, 16 assistant referees and two Video Assistant Referees (VAR).

Algeria has three of the total referees, two referees and one assistant, the most number at the championship.

Uganda will not have any referee represented at the 2018 CHAN tournament in Morocco.

Uganda Cranes will play at the final tournament for the fourth year in a row.

The Cranes were drawn in Group B alongside Zambia, Namibia and Cote D’Ivoire.

All Uganda’s matches will be staged in Marrakech. Only Namibia versus Zambia tie will be played in Casablanca on the final day of group fixtures.

The quarter finals will be played on the 27th and 28th January 2018 in all the cities. These will be subsequently followed by the semifinals on 31st January, third place playoff match on 3rd February before the final on Sunday, 4th February 2018.

The tournament will be played over three weeks between 12th January and 4th February, 2018.


Ghobal Moustapha (Algeria), Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria), Martins De Carvalho (Angola), Pacifique Ndabihawenimana (Burundi), Abou Coulibaly (Cote D’Ivoire), Ibrahim Nour El Din (Egypt), Bamlak Tesema (Ethiopia), Daniel Nii Ayi Larya (Ghana), Hamada Nampiandraza (Madagascar), Mahamadou Keita (Mali), Noureddine El Jaafari (Morocco), Jackson Pavaza (Namibia), Jean Jacque Ndala (Democratic Republic of Congo), Louis Hakizimana (Rwanda), Maguette Ndiaye (Senegal), Victor Gomes Miguel (South Africa), Selmi Sadok (Tunisia), Ghead Grisha (Egypt), Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia), Malang Diedhiou (Senegal), Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

Assistant Referees

Mokrane Gourari (Algeria), Seydou Tiama (Burkina Faso), Elvis Noupoue (Cameroon), Soulaiman Amaldine (Comoros), Steven Danilek M. Moyo (Congo), Mahmoud A.K Abouel Regal (Egypt), Berhe Tesfagiorghis (Eritrea), Sidiki Sidibe (Guinea), Gilbert Cheruiyot (Kenya), Souru Phatsoane (Lesotho), Amsaaed Attia (Libya), Moriba Diakite (Mali), Azgaou Lahsen (Morocco), Arsenio Chadreque Maringule (Mozambique), Ibrahim Mohammed Abdallah (Sudan), Yamen Melloulchi (Tunisia)

Video Assistant Referees (VAR)

Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos (Angola) and Range Aden Marwa (Kenya)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *