Nominees for 2018 Airtel FUFA awards revealed

Noela Byuma, Remmy Kisakye, Moses Magogo and Roger Byamukama
Noela Byuma, Remmy Kisakye, Moses Magogo and Roger Byamukama

Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) has revealed the short list of nominees for this year’s FUFA Best men and women footballer(MVP) of the year, with the winners set to be announced on Friday 7th December.

Noela Byuma, Remmy Kisakye, Moses Magogo and Roger Byamukama

The annual event, organised with the purpose of awarding the best excelling footballers of year, are chiefly sponsored by giant telecommunication company Airtel, who injected a whooping Shs 100M for this year’s event.

FUFA president Eng. Moses Magogo and Airtel marketing Manager Remmy Kisakye among others graced the launch of the fourth edition at Sheraton hotel on Wensday morning.

Remmy Kisakye the Airtel Uganda communications and brand manager in her remarks, said that Airtel are committed to supporting Ugandan Football at all levels.

“We are happy to partner with FUFA for the 4th year running to sponsor the Airtel FUFA awards. Airtel is committed to supporting football right from the grassroots to the national team and our support of these awards re-affirms total commitment for developing football at all levels.

“We thank the Federation for recognising talent and pledge as a brand to continue supporting this cause as we strive to see Ugandan players become prosper,” She added.

Waiswa, Sekajugo and Okello make MVP Shortlist

Onduparaka FC hotshot Vianne Sekajugo, KCCA FC whizkid Allan Okello and Vipers SC Moses Waiswa will tussle it out for the men’s top gong while Crested Cranes captain and Kawempe Muslim utility player Tracy Akiror, UCU Lady Cardinals Goalie Ruth Aturo and Uganda Martyrs High School defender Shadia Nankya have made the cut in female category.

The trio are inspirational figures of the Created Cranes.

The nominees were selected by the sixteen coaches of the men’s and women’s topflight league.

Fans will do the voting through short messaging service codes. To Vote Type “FUFA – Space- Nominee Code and send to 8888.

KCCA soccer Academy ‘s Sadat Anaku, Thomas Kakaire of Bright Stars Junior team and Iddi Abdulwahid from Onduparaka Junior Team will battle for the FUFA Upcoming Talent (FUFA Juniors league U-19) and that means their is no nominee from reigning FUFA Juniors League Champions Vipers SA.

The FUFA Most Promising Player Award will be contested by Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), Fred Amaku (K-Jinja SSS FC) and Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers SC)

The other categories include; Coach, Best XI, FUFA Presidential award, Fair Play Award (both individual and team), Referee and Upcoming Referee of the year, Beach Soccer player of the year, Fans’ Favourite Ugandan Player general and foreign-based and the Fan of the year.

The crowing event will be held in the Serene confines of Speke Resort Munyonyo.

Leave a Reply