Luka Modric was crowned the Ballon d’Or winner for 2018, beating Cristiano Ronaldo and Antoine Griezmann to claim the prize on Monday.

Luka Modric 

The Ballon d’Or has been dominated by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi for the past decade, the rivals winning the award five times apiece however, Modric broke the dominance.

How did Uganda vote?

Uganda had Fred Musisi Kiyingi as the sole representative at the awards.

The Daily Monitor reporter voted Modric 1, Kylian Mbappe 2, Critiano Ronaldo 3, Antoinne Griezmann 4 and Mohammed Salah 5, respectively.

During the regular season, Antoine Griezmann became the first World Cup winner to be involved in at least one goal in the Last 16 (one goal), the quarter-final (one goal, one assist), the semi-final (one assist) & the final (one goal) in a single edition of the tournament since 1986.

Ronaldo became the first European player in history to score in eight consecutive major tournaments (World Cup and European Championships).

While Modric also won the World Cup’s Golden Ball award for the tournament’s best player, becoming the first player from Croatia to take the prize. Modric was also the first Croatian to place in the top three since Davor Suker finished second in 1998.