Uganda Cranes coach Sebastien Desabre

CHAN 2020 Qualifiers:

Central Eastern Zone (First Round)

Uganda Cranes Vs South Sudan

Somalia Vs Rwanda

Tanzania Vs Sudan

Kenya Vs Burundi

*Dates and venues to be confirmed later

Uganda Cranes will face South Sudan in the first round of the qualifiers for the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) Ethiopia.

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre will think of players as Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma for the CHAN qualifiers

This was confirmed during the draws held on Wednesday, 30 January 2019 at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt on the side-lines of the Organising Committee of the competition.

Acting General Secretary Essadik Alaoui chaired the meeting on behalf of the CAF President Ahmad Ahmad.

The winner between Uganda and South Sudan over the two legs will face the winner between Somalia and Rwanda for a slot to the final tournament that will be hosted in Ethiopia come 2020.

Forty-seven (47) countries engaged in the battle for 15 places to join host Ethiopia for the final tournament of the sixth edition of the tournament designed exclusively for footballers playing in their domestic leagues.

In the other first round games, Tanzania will face Sudan as Kenya will lock horns against Burundi.

Uganda, Rwanda, Sudan and Burundi had been drawn in pot 1 whilst pot 2 had Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Tanzania.

Uganda has played at four CHAN Championships in Sudan (2011), South Africa (2014), Rwanda (2016) and lately Morocco (2018).

Democratic Republic of Congo are the record winners with two title as Morocco are the reigning champions.

Other Fixtures (Round 1):

Northern Zone:

Algeria Vs Morocco

Tunisia Vs Libya

Western Zone – A:

Guinea Bissau Vs Mali

Cape Verde Vs Mauritania

Liberia Vs Senegal

Western Zone – B:

Benin Vs Togo

Round 2:

Winner Benin/Togo Vs Nigeria

Niger Vs Cote D’Voire

Ghana Vs Burkina Faso

Central Zone:

Round 1:

Central Africa Republic Vs Chad

Round 2:

Winner Central Africa Republic/Chad Vs DR Congo

Cameroon Vs Sao Tome and Principe

Equatorial Guinea Vs Congo

Southern Zone:

Round 1:

Botswana Vs Seychelles

Swaziland Vs Malawi

Round 2:

Winner Botswana/ Seychelles Vs Zambia

Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola

Comoros Vs Namibia

Madagascar Vs Mozambique

Lesotho Vs South Africa

Mauritius Island Vs Zimbabwe

Round 3:

Winner Botswana / Seychelles Vs Zambia Vs Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola

Winner Comoros / Namibia Vs Winner Madagascar / Mozambique

Winner Lesotho / South Africa Vs Mauritius Island / Zimbabwe

The quota for the various zones is as follows:

Northern Zone – 2 teams

Western A Zone – 2 teams

Western B Zone – 3 teams

Central Zone – 3 teams

Central-East Zone – 2 teams + Ethiopia

Southern Zone – 3 teams