Timothy Awany in action

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre has named the final squad that wll travel to Egypt for the 2019 AFCON.

Sebastien Desabre

Among the new inclusions are Ostersunds’ Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi, KCCA’s Timothy Denis Awanya and Yeovil Town’s Bevis Mugabi in defence.

Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden) and Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda) in midfield.

Allan “Dancing Rasta” Kateregga

Montreal Impact’s Mike Azira, William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India) and Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia) all return for the same showpiece they were part of two years ago in Gabon.

Michael Azira – Uganda Cranes

Left Out

Midfielder Moses Waiswa’s knee concerns ruled the Vipers’ play maker out of the tournament.

Another injured player left out is burly forward Alexis David Bbakka who features at Carlstad United in Sweden.

KCCA’s Ibrahim Sadam Juma has been dogged by malaria for the previous seven days and sadly fails to make the list.

There is no place for Ethiopian based utility player Kirizestom Ntambi who is deemed as excess baggage.

Ibrahim Saddam Juma

Uganda will play the final build up against Cote D’Ivoire this coming Saturday, 15th June 2019 before flying to Egypt for the biennial continental showpiece.

Uganda is housed in group A alongside Hosts Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo and Zimbabwe.

Uganda Cranes final 23 man Team:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached)

Midfielders:  Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda)

Strikers: Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania)