Allan Kayiwa (left) vies for the ball possession with Mustafa Kizza during a Uganda Cranes training session

Uganda Cranes Regional Tours 2019 (Namutima)

  • Saturday, 9th  November 2019
  • North Eastern Select Vs Uganda Cranes
  • Katakwi Play Ground

Uganda Cranes Head Coach Johnathan McKinstry confirmed the 21 players for the North East regional Tour that will be staged in Katakwi on Saturday 9th November 2019.

Allan Okello in a Uganda Cranes training session with teammates

All the players summoned ply their trade in the Uganda Premier League, including the five called to the main stream Uganda Cranes team that will travel to Burkina Faso for the AFCON 2021 qualifier.

These five players are goalkeeper Charles Lukwago, Allan Okello, Halid Lwaliwa, Fahad Bayo and Nicholas Kasozi.

The other summoned players are; URA’s goalkeeper James Alitho (URA FC), two right backs in Paul Willa (Vipers SC) and Ashraf Mandela (URA) as well as one left back, Mustafa Kizza of KCCA.

There are five forwards in Vianne Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Fahad Bayo (Vipers) and Proline’s Edrisa “Torres” Lubega.

Training & Travel Programme:

The team will train on Thursday morning at StarTimes Stadium Lugogo before setting off for Katakwi on Friday morning.

These tours are jointly sponsored by telecommunications giants Airtel and Nile Breweries under their brand Nile Special.

The tour is in line with the preparations for the upcoming Uganda Cranes participation in the CHAN Finals and also taking the Uganda Cranes brand to the masses.

The squad summoned:

  • Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC) and James Alitho (URA FC)
  • Right Backs: Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC)
  • Left Backs: Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC)
  • Central Defenders: Halid Lwalilwa (Vipers SC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Samuel Kato  (KCCA FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC)
  • Holding Midfielders: Nicolas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC)
  • Creative Midfielders: Hassan Senyonjo (Wakiso Giants), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC)
  • Forwards: Vianne Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Fahad Bayo (Vipers  SC), Edrisa Lubega (Proline FC)