Mike Mutebi

With the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards slated for 14th December at Speke Resort Munyonoyo  drawing closer, Airtel Football looks at the nominees for the male coach of the year award category.

Coaches Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC), Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC), Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC) have all been nominated.

Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC)

Despite finishing 11th with Police FC in the 2018/19 Uganda Premier League season, Mubiru guided Uganda Cranes to the finals of the CHAN 2020 tournament.

Abdallah Mubiru

At first, Mubiru was handed the team for the invitational COSAFA tournament as former coach Sebastien Desabre concentrated on working with the AFCON bound team.

He drew both matches at the showpiece before losing on penalties in the 5th place playoff.

He later took charge of the team of locally based players for the 2020 CHAN qualifiers after Desabre’s departure at the end of AFCON 2019.

Along with Livingstone Mbabazi, Saddiq Wassa and team manager Geoffrey Massa, he completed the job, winning all four games (home and away), scoring 15 goals and conceding just four.

A brief of Cranes Results under Mubiru

  1. Lesotho 0-0 Uganda – Cosafa
  2. South Africa 1-1 Uganda – Cosafa (Daniel Sserunkuma)
  3. Somalia 1-3 Uganda – Chan (Patrick Kaddu, Taddeo Lwanga and Mustafa Kizza)
  4. Uganda 4-1 Somalia – Chan (Patrick Kaddu X3, Allan Kyambadde)
  5. Kenya 1-1 Uganda – International Friendly (Emmanuel Okwi)
  6. Burundi 0-3 Uganda – Chan (Viane Ssekajugo, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Mustafa Kizza)
  7. Uganda 3-0 Burundi – Chan (Fahad Bayo, Viane Ssekajugo and Allan Okello)

Played 7, Won 4, Drawn 3, Lost 0, Goals For 15, Goals Against 4

Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC)

Mike Mutebi claimed the 2018/19 Uganda Premier League with KCCA FC. Throughout the whole season, the Lugogo based side played 30 games, won 19, lost only 2 and drew 9.

Mike Mutebi

By end of the season, they had amassed 66 points.

Mike had quite a journey on the continent. He won the 2019 CECAFA Clubs championship when the side defeated Azam FC in the final in Rwanda.

Mustapha Kiiza scored the winner, a long range shot that went past the Azam goal keeper in the 63rd minute.

In that particular tournament, Mike was in charge for 6 games, he won five, drew one and lost none.

Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC)

Last season was quite eventful for Proline under Shafiq Bisaso.

Proline Football Team with Shafiq Bisaso

While in charge of the outfit, he realized promotion of the team back to the top flight after defeating Kabale Sharp at the Kabale Municipal Stadium on Thursday, May 9, 2019 from the Rwenzori group.

Two first-half strikes from Joseph Mandela and immensely gifted midfielder Bright Anukani gave Proline the maximum points.

During that time, there was the 2019 Uganda Cup final – their first in history beckoning against Bright Stars.

On the final day, Proline defeated Bright Stars 5-4 during a tense post match penalty shoot out.

Shafik Bisaso

Normal time of the game had ended one goal apiece with Nelson Senkatuka netting for Bright Stars while Musitafa Mujuzi leveled the matters.

Last year, Mike Mutebi won the accolade at the awards held at Speke Resort Munyonyo.

This category will be voted for by the FUFA Awards Technical Committee after initial selections of the top three by the Uganda Football Coaches Association (UFCA).