Steven Mukwala - Uganda Cranes

Vipers Sports Club striker Steven Dese Mukwala on loan at Maroons FC has been one of the best performers in the league so far.

John McKinstry – Uganda Cranes

The robust striker leads the scoring charts with 10 goals in 12 games, a performance that has seen him earn a call to the Uganda Cranes team that is preparing for the 2019 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

Mukwala who was one of the 18 players that took part in the first training session conducted by Cranes’ head coach John McKinstry on Wednesday indicted he wants to replicate the performance he has had in the league with the national team.

“I feel so good to be part of this team. I have put up a good show in the league and am sure that I can replicate this performance on the national team,” he said.

“This is an opportunity for me to impress the coach and also make a cut on the senior national team. I have already featured for the U20 and U23 teams, so this is a great step in my career and I will take it with both hands.”

McKinstry summoned a provisional squad of 30 players but this will be trimmed to 23 that will feature for Uganda at the regional tournament.

Mukwala will compete with other strikers like Fahad Bayo, Ben Ocen, Viane Ssekajugo, Allan Kayiwa, Joel Madondo and Edirisa Lubega for a place on the final team.

Record champions Uganda will host the tournament between 7th -19th December.

Full Squad
Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), James Alitho (URA), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC), Jack Komakech (Football for Good), Saidi Keni (SC Villa)

Defenders: Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC), Musitafa Kizza (KCCA FC), Disan Galiwango (Express FC) John Revita (KCCA FC), Samuel Kato (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC)

Midfielders: Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Shafic Kagimu (URA FC), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Kirizestom Ntambi (Wakiso Giants), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC)

Forwards: Ben Ocen (Police FC), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United FC), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Stephen Mukwala (Maroons FC), Edrisa Lubega (Proline FC)

CECAFA Groups:
Group A – Uganda, Burundi, Ethiopia, Eritrea
Group B – DR Congo, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia
Group C – Kenya, Tanzania, Djibouti, Zanzibar