FUFA Drum Champions - Acholi Pronvince

FUFA DRUM 2019 Final

Acholi 0(5)- 0(3) Bukedi

Acholi province are the winners of the 2019 FUFA Drum tournament after overcoming Bukedi in the final played at Akii Bua Memorial stadium in Lira on Tuesday.

The Elephants defied odds to overcome a determined Bukedi side who ended the tournament unbeaten, the only team to have the run this season.

Normal time ended in a barren stalemate but Acholi won the penalty contest 5-3 to emerge champions.

Goalkeeper Derrick Ochan who plays for Vipers SC in the league was the hero for Acholi saving Aaron Okoth’s kick from the penalty mark.

Disan Galiwango, Frank Kalanda and David Owori had converted their kicks for Bukedi province.

On the other hand, Tito Okello, Moses Okot Felix Okoth and Richardson Asaba converted theirs’ for Acholi before skipper Dennis Oola Okot took the winning penalty.

Winners Acholi on top of the trophy and medals bagged a cash prize of 32 million shillings while runners up Bukedi got 15 million shillings.

Acholi is the second province to win the tournament aimed at Celebrating Ancestry after Buganda who won the inaugural edition last year.

Individual Top Performers: Most Valuable Player (MVP): Bronson Nsubuga (Lango) Best Goalkeeper: Derrick Emukule (Bukedi Province)

Top Scorer: Tito Okello (Acholi Province) – 8 Goals

FUFA DRUM Best XI: Derrick Emukule (G.K, Bukedi), Denis Okota Oola (Bukedi), Rashid Okocha (West Nile), Benjamin Nyakoojo (Tooro), Slyvester Okello (Acholi), Hudu Mulikyi (Acholi), Bronson Nsubuga (Lango), Fredson Gwot (Bukedi), Tito Okello (Acholi), Ibra Nsimbe (Bukedi), Felix Okot (Acholi)

Best Coach: Geofrey Akena (Acholi)