Juma Balinya (L) celebrates

The local football audience will have chance to witness the new net-busters on block Juma Balinya and Bashir Mutanda feature in the same team.

Juma Balinya dribbles

This was after reigning FUFA Drum Champions Buganda included the pair in their star- studded 23-man squad for this year’s edition.

Police FC’S Balinya currently leads the top scorer’s charts with 16 while Mutanda of SC Villa has 13 goals. That’s a combined 29 goals between the two former Vipers players.

Buganda will open their title defense campaign with an encounter against Lango at the Bishop’s SS Mukono grounds.

Last season’s MVP Viane Sekajugo, Brian Majwega, Dan Birikwalira, Halid Lwaliwa and veteran striker Robert Sentongo are the other big names on the squad that will be coached by Alex Isabirye Musogola.

There was also nods for Tooro United’s hotshot Allan Kayiwa and URA FC captain Shafik Kagimu. Buganda, pitted in Group B against Lango, Ankole and Sebei, won the first ever FUFA Drum tournament after defeating West Nile 2-1 in a two legged final last year.

Full Squad

Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka), Hannington Sebwalunyo (BUL FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Tooro United), Ronald Dickson Kigongo (URA FC), Dan Birikwalira (Bright Stars), Enock Walusimbi (Bright Stars), Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka), Said Kyeyune (URA FC), Allan Kayiwa (Tooro United), Shafik Kagimu (URA FC), Brian Majwega (Maroons FC), Musa Magulu (Kyetume FC), Robert Sentongo (Kyetume FC), Solomon Walusimbi (Maroons FC), Baker Buyala (Tooro United), Juma Balinya (Police FC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Ezra Kaye (Busula SC), Ivan Serubiri (Free Stars), Dennis Lubowa (Kyetume FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Arafat Galiwango (Police FC) and Rahumatah Kagimu (Seeta United)